Lewis University

Introduction to Lewis University

Lewis University, originally known as the Holy Name Technical School, was established in 1932 by Bishop Bernard J. Sheil and the Chicago Archdiocese. By 1940, the school's name had changed to the Lewis School of Aeronautics.

After World War II, the school implemented more arts and sciences programs, and by 1973, it had gone from Lewis College to Lewis University. There are currently five other satellite campuses in Chicago, Shorewood, Oak Brook, Tinley Park and Hickory Hills.

Student Life at Lewis University

The school's main campus is located in a suburban setting with 11 residence halls for student housing. Students can choose to participate in more than 40 clubs, organizations, fraternities, sororities and intramural sports. Lewis University competes in NCAA Division II athletics and is part of the Great Lakes Valley Conference.

FAQs on Lewis University

What is the Accreditation Status of Lewis University?

Lewis University has accreditation by the Higher Learning Commission and is a member of the North Central Association. It is also accredited by various other organizations for degree programs.

What Are the Requirements for Admission to Lewis University?

Applicants need to fill out the online application for admissions, print and sign before sending it with a nonrefundable application fee to the school. Admission is based on official high school transcripts, class rank, grade point average, standardized test scores from the SAT or ACT, extracurricular activities and high school curriculum.

Can I Receive Financial Aid From Lewis University?

Over 85 percent of students at Lewis University receive some form of financial assistance, with over eight million dollars in awards based on need or merit. The first step is for incoming students to fill out and submit a FAFSA application to determine eligibility for government grants, loans and work study. Lewis students can also apply for scholarships such as Talent Scholarships, Phi Theta Kappa Scholarships and Nursing Grants.

What Are the Degree Options at Lewis University?

The six schools at Lewis University are: the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Business, the College of Education, the College of Nursing and Health Professions and the School for Professional and Continuing Education. Lewis University earns an impressive reputation for its graduate programs.

Students can choose from degree programs such as aerospace studies, aviation management, computer sciences, education, journalism, information systems, music merchandising and nursing. Pre-professional degrees include dentistry, optometry, engineering, pharmacy, physical therapy, law and medicine. Lewis University also offers accelerated degree programs for working adults who cannot attend a traditional university.

This site was founded by librarian Mike Madin in 1998. After more than 20 years on the Internet, AcademicInfo has become the premier website for education and university related information and reviews.

While we do our very best to provide accurate and up-to-date information, please contact us if you find anything that is either wrong, or that you feel is missing from the site.

Copyright © 1998 - 2021 Academic Info. All rights reserved.